CACMLE Webinar Courses

Webinar: (05-04-2016) Microbiology SpMV-2 – The Zika Virus – Implications for Clinical and Public Health Laboratories

$115.00

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
(10 AM Pacific, 11 AM Mountain, 12 Noon Central, 1 PM Eastern):
James L. Beebe, PhD, D(ABMM)

Don’t Miss this Important and Timely Webinar

Program Overview:
Zika virus, long regarded as an esoteric rarity, has emerged in near pandemic fashion. Viruses of the same group have unpredictably moved from the Eastern to the Western hemisphere creating problems for citizens, physicians and governments. Dr. Jim Beebe probes the possible reasons for this phenomenon and the need for responses by clinical and public health laboratories to deal with yet another new virus.

Buy This Course At Our Store Site

Product Description

Wednesday, May 4, 2016
(10 AM Pacific, 11 AM Mountain, 12 Noon Central, 1 PM Eastern):
James L. Beebe, PhD, D(ABMM)

Microbiology Special Event #SpMV-2: The Zika Virus: Implications for Clinical and Public Health Laboratories (Webinar & Recording downloaded from cloud) $115.00  BUY NOW

Microbiology Special Event #SpMV-2: The Zika Virus: Implications for Clinical and Public Health Laboratories (Webinar & Recording on CD) $133.00   BUY NOW

Don’t Miss this Important and Timely Webinar

February 1, 2016 – World Health Organization declared a Public Health Emergency of
International Concern (PHEIC) due to clusters of microcephaly
and other neurological disorders in areas affected by the Zika virus.

February 8, 2016 – CDC elevates its response efforts to a Level 1 activation, the
highest response level at the CDC.

Learning Objectives.
At the completion of this Session, the participant will be able to:

  1. List the reasons for the emergence of this new virus
  2. Describe how patients infected with new viruses will present in the medical community and what laboratory diagnostic assets/methods (e.g.RT-PCR, ELISA) can be applied.
  3. Describe appropriate safety, specimen collection, shipping, and reporting guidelines.
  4. Define what factors will allow certain viruses to become established in the United
    States and continue to cause illness.
Share this!